Get into the Kar, Ma….


It was a cold evening, I was sitting down studying then what I thought to be the hardest possible subjects anyone could face. It was a war against my mind and for a bit I was actually winning and then I heard it,… Loud and clear,… the exacts words were… “All SS1 boys come out to the X right now!!!“… It was sort of like the lyrics from a broken record as we had begun to hear this ever so often that our reaction was simply walking to the prescribed location with one question on our minds,… “What did we do now?“…

We began on our knees with our hands in the air…. and as though the one who shouted could measure the pain we felt, he tells us to get up to begin a round of frog jumps. 100 reps for each round and we had gone about 5 rounds when the belts started swinging and one happened to find its way around my face. An hour on my knees, 500 frog jumps and one huge bruise on my face later, we were released… and you begin to hope that the guy who did that to u has a younger brother who will come to the school in the nearest future… (Unfortunately, that doesn’t happen)…

You also hope that they would come ask you for a job or something… and you are their last hope,…. and then you get to pay them back in their own coin,… but that doesn’t happen either. I find it very annoying that the Law of Karma does not work the way we always want it to. You get bullied growing up and hope that one day that same bully will be at your office asking you for a job… That’s the typical naija movie narrative,… The wrong doer always get what they deserve and they confess at the end,… They display the exceptions so much that we think its the rule and AfMag is excellent at making us think that Karma happens in ways we would expect….

Karma unfortunately takes several shapes and forms,… Some you might not even consider a problem for the other person… like the guy who played you, getting married and having only female children who in the process of protecting from guys like himself ends up looking over protective…. Doesn’t seem like a problem right?!… Yeah it doesn’t until you realise that all his kids hate him cos he is too restrictive. In the end though even if we don’t understand how it does,… what goes around always comes around.

Signing Out,

18books.

6 thoughts on “Get into the Kar, Ma….

  1. Personally,I have imagined some of my cousins coming on bended knees begging and I,full of tears tell them to go away and they beg and…….drama…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hmmmn!!! I relate to the “having younger siblings come around for revenge purposes” we see that alotta around here…Hahaha! We Culd boldly say topfaithite watch alotta African Magic…LOL. NB: God help our karma isn’t dat bad, cos ALL have sinned n come short of God’s glory. Looooooooooooooooooool

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice one,we have all pass through this stage in one way or the other but if we all hold onto having our Revenge or Karma, who will be spared, as we have all also knowingly or not done same.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The whole ‘karma’ thing only sounds beautiful when it’s used in reference to someone who has offended you. For me, the scariest thing is thinking about how my kids are probably gonna lie to me and sneak out the house and do everything I plan on telling them not to do. Coz I’ve done it all and I’ve seen the damage it causes and wouldn’t want them to go through same. But since what goes around really comes around, I may very well have to face it 😭

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment